DJ and producer SUARK stands in a darkened room in a black jacket and polo neck with his reflection seen in the background against a white wall

What is the dance music scene like in Switzerland?

Swiss producer SUARK chats to That DJ Podcast about what it’s like DJing in his home country of Switzerland.

“I have to be honest, I didn’t really play much in Switzerland. In Zurich, I played a while and in Saint Moritz and that’s it,” said SUARK.

“The main spots where I actually played in Switzerland were in Lugano. I hang out a lot, but it’s not a music scene it is just discotheques more than clubs. 

“You see very often here DJs are just like jukeboxes, they’re just playing other people’s music. They’re not really playing their own songs. 

“This is something that you see maybe in the major cities, for example, Zurich and other places where DJs can actually play what they make. 

“Here, unless you have a big record or you want to see the energy going down, you just don’t do it because there is a very particular way of how people here perceive music. It’s either a crazy success, then they celebrate their artists or the support is not really there. 

“We struggle with that side. I don’t know how it is in the UK, but here I always had issues on getting support from locals. 

“Then you go for example to Eastern Europe, and they just shout and ask her for autographs and no matter what they just like your selection. 

“That’s something I see more in for example northern Europe. In Switzerland, it’s weird. We have great musicians here and we host some of the best music festivals, for example, Montreux Jazz Festival is famous for jazz and then rock. 

“Swiss musicians are a bit left on the side all the time. So, you either become like a big success and then people just come and gather for you or you struggle to find those people that are very dedicated to you. 

“The same is reflected in clubs, where people just want to go there and have fun and they don’t care about who’s playing or who’s not playing, they just want to have the hit record and then another one, then another one. 

“If for example, a DJ pulls out a song he made, people will be like, ‘yeah, it sounds okay, but let me have another vodka’. They don’t pay too much attention to the music. 

“That’s how I struggled a lot. At certain points, I just stopped playing because it’s the same in Milan in Italy, where you are actually just a jukebox. 

“I speak about the clubs that I was performing, so I was playing a lot for posh clubs. 

“It’s not very politically correct, but I was paying for the Just Cavalli in Milan, Hollywood. So these were the places where people would go there just to show off, not really to listen to a particular style or any kind of music. 

“They want just hit records. They don’t care who’s playing. They don’t care if that record is the DJ’s and so on. I decided to stop performing completely and I want to get back in the scene because people want to listen to my music and to my selection too. 

“Because I want to set the mood, you know? And sometimes I was not able to because they wanted to listen to Pitbull and then Flo Rida. 

“I mean they are great artists, absolutely, they’ve been super successful, but after the 50th Saturday when they ask for Pitbull and Flo Rida it’s like, ‘dude, like chill’.” 

Listen to the full episode below:


Listen on Apple Podcasts

Listen on Google Podcasts, Anchor and more here.




I do the blog and podcast on a voluntary basis, so any support would be really appreciated.

One-Time
Monthly
Yearly

Make a one-time donation

Make a monthly donation

Make a yearly donation

Choose an amount

£3.00
£9.00
£60.00
£3.00
£9.00
£60.00
£3.00
£9.00
£60.00

Or enter a custom amount

£

Your contribution is appreciated.

Your contribution is appreciated.

Your contribution is appreciated.

DonateDonate monthlyDonate yearly

Have you read?

Leave a Reply